About the USA

The United States of America is a federal constitutional republic comprising fifty states and a federal district. The United States consists of 50 states and Washington D.C. The last two to join the Union were Alaska (49th) and Hawaii (50th). Both joined in 1959. Washington DC is a federal district under the authority of the U.S. Congress.

For more information on the USA, please visit the website Telling America's Story.

Statue of Molly Malone, Dublin

Contact Details

Consulate General of Ireland
400 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 911
IL 60611
Tel: +1-312-337-1868
Fax: +1-312-337-1954
Open to the public Monday - Friday: 10.00am – 12.00pm. Public phone lines open: 10.00am – 12.00pm and 14.00pm – 16.00pm.